• 1_Bestes-Hotel-Zuerich.jpg Lobby
  • 2_Hotel-center-zurich.jpg Hotel Savoy Baur en Ville
  • 3_luxushotel-zuerich.jpg Savoy Classic Suite
  • 4_Top-Suiten-Hotel-Zurich.jpg Savoy Suite
  • Restaurant Baur Restaurant Baur
  • 6_Hotel-Zürich-Zentrum.jpg Entrance Poststrasse
  • 7_Hotel-Centre-Zurich.jpg Zurich old town

Since 1838

The first house on the ‘Platz’

Our founder, Johannes Baur from Vorarlberg, showed true pioneering spirit when he opened his “guesthouse” in 1838. A lot has changed over the years: the location at today's Paradeplatz has become the center of one of the most popular cities in the world. And the former guest house became the first Grand Hotel in Zurich. One of the most renowned 5-star luxury hotels in Switzerland.

Pioneering spirit

Your hosts, the «Savoyans»

  • Our Concierge Team

    Our Concierge Team

    The Wizards of Paradeplatz

    Sounds like a fairy tale. It is one. But a real one. It's not for nothing that our concierge team around Luis Avin is called that. Even the most challenging requests are not annoying obligations for the Savoy employees, your hosts, but rather exciting tasks.

  • Our Housekeeping Team

    Our Housekeeping Team

    Strong behind the scenes

    They ensure that the stairs to the Beletage shine, before they swiftly whizz over the other levels: the angels of housekeeping.

  • Our Chasseure

    Our Chasseure

    The first Contact

    It’s not a job, but a calling: our Chasseure Team creates a lasting impression when they open their Zurich hotel doors and let you enter an oasis in the middle of the busy city.

  • Our Florist

    Our Florist

    The Savoy in full bloom

    Daily fresh flowers in abundance: our florist lives her passion at the Savoy and delights our guest with lovely floral decorations.

  • Bar Manager with a passion

    Our Bar Manager

    Charles Widmer lives his passion

    Known classics or new creations: old and young gather around Charles Widmer, whose eloquent elegance already made him an institution. Bilanz Hotelrating 2018 "Bar chef of the year"

  • Down-to-earth Chef with good taste

    Our Chef

    With an eye for detail

    Rolf Laible has been loyal to the Savoy for almost 30 years. He and his team make sure the culinary creations at our Zurich hotel are always on trend.

  • Our Lingerie Team

    Our Lingerie Team

    Flawless handicraft

    Sleep on cloud nine at our Zurich hotel. The ladies and gentlemen of our launderette ensure that you get fresh towels and soft linen every day.

Arrive

Zurich’s most central hotel in the world

You can get to the hotel from Zurich Airport in around 30 minutes by car, a navigation device will help. Or if you prefer to travel more comfortably, you can book our limousine service.

The public transport option: A relaxed journey by train takes you to Zurich main station, from where you will arrive at Paradeplatz after a two-minute tram ride through the legendary Bahnhofstrasse.

plan your trip

As our guest, you are part of a story

  • Johannes Baur opens the Baur en Ville

    1838

    On December 24th, 1838, the baker apprentice from Vorarlberg, Johannes Baur (*1795), made his dreams come true and opened the Baur en Ville. Even for the year 1838, the Grand opening event received a lot of PR attention. One newspaper, Augsburger Allgemeine Zeitung, wrote a long article about the «Riesengasthof» (huge guesthouse), boasting “one dining room, two parlours for dinner and déjeuner â part as well as manger à la carte, 10 more rooms, 140 beds, stables for 36-40 horses and a barn down by the river, fitting 50 more horses.”

    1838

  • Reconstruction and Extension

    1907

    In 1907, Jakob Schwarz, the fomer manager, hired Pfleghard & Haefeli for the reconstruction and extension of the hotel. 170 guest rooms were re-opened on June 13th, 1908. A Zurich newspaper, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, wrote: «The old Baur en Ville, which everyone in Zurich always loved, re-opened rejuvenated and beautified. It will remain an important part of the hotel industry in Zurich and Switzerland and it will prove again its international reputation. »

    1907

  • Home of the guild of tanners and shoemakers

    1923

    Since 1923, the Savoy Baur en Ville has been home of the guild of tanners and shoemakers. The guild was formed in 1336, and in 1877 shoemakers and tanners joined forces. The guild is all about leather work, shoemaking and repair. The guild celebrated their first “Rechenmahl”, a big festive dinner after an assembly, in the Zurich hotel on November 28th, 1924.

    1923

  • The big rebuild

    1975

    From 1975 to 1978 the hotel closed because of reconstruction works. The façade was carefully removed, so they could place it where it historically belonged. Restaurant Orsini and Chäs-Vreneli were fully rebuilt. On the March 31st, 1978, after exactly 26 months, the new Savoy Baur en Ville, a 5-star hotel in Zurich, opened its doors again. It now holds 104 rooms and suites and several function rooms. Around 170 employees take care of the guests every day.

    1975

  • 24th of December 2018 – 180-year anniversary

    2018

    This Christmas Eve will be even more special than usually: The Grande Dame celebrates her 180th birthday. Today, our 5-star hotel in Zurich consists of 104 rooms and suites and several event venues. Around 170 employees look after our guests every day.

    2018

• 1_Bestes-Hotel-Zuerich.jpg Lobby
  • 2_Hotel-center-zurich.jpg Hotel Savoy Baur en Ville
  • 3_luxushotel-zuerich.jpg Savoy Classic Suite
  • 4_Top-Suiten-Hotel-Zurich.jpg Savoy Suite
  • Restaurant Baur Restaurant Baur
  • 6_Hotel-Zürich-Zentrum.jpg Eingang Poststrasse
  • 7_Hotel-Centre-Zurich.jpg Altstadt Zürich

Seit 1838

Das erste Haus am Platz

Wahren Pioniergeist zeigte unser Gründer, der Vorarlberger Johannes Baur, als er 1838 seinen Gasthof eröffnete. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich einiges geändert: Aus dem Standort am heutigen Paradeplatz ist das Zentrum einer der beliebtesten Städte der Welt geworden. Und aus der einstigen Herberge wurde das erste Grand Hotel Zürichs. Eines der renommiertesten 5-Sterne-Luxushotels der Schweiz.

Pioniergeist

Ihre Gastgeber, die «Savoyaner»

  • Unser Concierge Team

    Unser Concierge Team

    Zauberer vom Paradeplatz

    Klingt wie ein Märchen. Ist auch eins. Aber ein wahres. Nicht umsonst wird unser Concierge-Team rund um Luis Avin so bezeichnet. Selbst die herausforderndsten Wünsche sind für die Savoy Mitarbeitenden, Ihren Gastebern, keine lästigen Verpflichtungen, sondern spannende Aufgaben. Happy End inkl.

  • Unser Housekeeping Team

    Unser Housekeeping Team

    Stark hinter den Kulissen

    Morgens sorgen sie für den letzten Glanz auf der Treppe zur Beletage, danach huschen sie flink über die Etagen: unsere guten Geister vom Housekeeping.

  • Unsere Chasseure

    Unsere Chasseure

    Der erste Kontakt

    Kein Beruf, sondern eine Berufung: Unser Chasseur Team schafft den ersten bleibenden Eindruck und öffnet die Türen in die Oase inmitten der Stadt.

  • Unser Florsitin

    Unser Floristin

    Bringt das Savoy zum blühen

    Täglich Frischblumen in Hülle und Fülle: Unsere Floristin hat im Savoy ihre Passion gefunden und erfreut unsere Gäste täglich mit liebevoll gestaltetem Blumenschmuck.

  • Barchef mit Passion

    Unser Barchef

    Charles Widmer lebt seine Passion

    Erprobte Klassiker und neue Kreationen: Alt und Jung versammelt sich bei unserem Barchef Charles Widmer, der mit seiner eloquenten Eleganz bereits selbst zur Institution geworden ist. Bilanz Hotelrating 2018 "Barchef des Jahres"

  • Bodenständiger Küchenchef mit Geschmack

    Unser Küchenchef

    Mit Liebe zum Detail

    Seit fast 30 Jahren ein loyaler Savoyaner, sorgt Rolf Laible mit seinem Team dafür, dass unser Küchenklassiker nie aus dem Trend geraten.

  • Unser Lingerie Team

    Unser Lingerie Team

    Makellose Handarbeit

    Schlafen wie auf Wolke 7. Unsere Damen und Herren in der hauseigenen Lingerie sorgen täglich für reine Handtücher und weiche Bettlaken.

Ankommen

Zürichs zentralstes Hotel der Welt

Vom Flughafen Zürich gelangen Sie in gut 30 Minuten mit dem Auto zum Hotel, ein Navigationsgerät hilft. Oder noch bequemer: Sie buchen unseren Limousinen-Service.


Die öffentliche Variante: Eine entspannte Anreise mit dem Zug bringt Sie an den Hauptbahnhof Zürich, von wo aus Sie nach einer zweiminütigen Tramfahrt durch die legendäre Bahnhofstrasse beim Paradeplatz ankommen.

Anfahrt planen

Als unser Gast sind Sie Teil einer Geschichte

  • Eröffnung des Baur en Ville durch Johannes Baur

    1838

    Am 24. Dezember 1838 verwirklichte sich der Vorarlberger Bäckergeselle Johannes Baur (*1795) mit der Eröffnung des Baur en Ville einen Traum. Der Anlass erhielt für damalige Zeiten ein beachtliches PR-Echo, sogar die Augsburger Allgemeine Zeitung berichtete gross über den neuen «Riesengasthof», welcher über eine «mustergültige Einrichtung» verfüge: «1 Speisesaal, 2 Salons für Dinner und Déjeuner â part, sowie für Manger à la Carte, 10 weitere Salons, 140 Betten, Stallung für 36 bis 40 Pferde und eine an der Sihlbrücke gelegene Dépendance mit Stallungen für weitere 50 Pferde.»

    1838

  • Um- und Erweiterungsbau

    1907

    1907 gab der damalige Direktor Jakob Schwarz den Um- und Erweiterungsbau bei der im Hotelumbau erfahrenen Firma Pfleghard & Haefeli in Auftrag. Die 170 Fremdenzimmer wurden am 13. Juni 1908 feierlich wiedereröffnet. Die Neue Zürcher Zeitung schrieb dazu: «Das alte Baur en Ville, für das wir in Zürich immer lebhafte Sympathie hatten, zeigt sich in seinem neuen Kleide, verjüngt und verschönt. Es wird wie bisher ein bemerkenswertes Glied im zürcherischen und schweizerischen Hotelgewerbe sein und sein altes Ansehen in der internationalen Handels- und Touristenwelt aufs Neue bewähren.»

    1907

  • Heimat der Vereinigten Zünfte zur Gerwe und zur Schuhmachern

    1923

    Seit 1923 dient das Savoy Baur en Ville den Vereinigten Zünften zur Gerwe und zur Schuhmachern als Rückzugsort. Bei den Gerwern handelt es sich um Gerber (Weisslederer und Pergamenter). Gegründet wurde die Zunft 1336, und 1877 erfolgte der Zusammenschluss mit den Schuhmachern. Die Zunftthemen sind Lederbearbeitung, Schuhherstellung und Schuhreparaturen. Am 28. November 1924 feierten die Vereinigten Zünfte ihr erstes Rechenmahl (Nachtessen im Anschluss an eine ordentliche Versammlung) im Hotel.

    1923

  • Der grosse Umbau

    1975

    In den Jahren 1975 bis 1978 schloss das Hotel seine Pforten, um erneut einen grossen Umbau durchzuführen. Dabei wurde die Fassade sorgfältig demontiert, um danach wieder historisch genau rekonstruiert zu werden. Die Gebäude des Restaurants Orsini und des Haus zum Tor wurden ebenfalls gänzlich umgebaut. Am 31. März 1978, nach rund 26 Monaten, eröffnete das neue Savoy Baur en Ville termingerecht. Mittlerweile verfügt es über 104 Zimmer und Suiten und mehrere Veranstaltungsräume. Rund 170 Mitarbeiter sorgen täglich für das Wohl der Hotelgäste.

    1975

  • 24. Dezember 2018 – 180-Jahr-Jubiläum

    2018

    Am 24. Dezember 2018 feiert die Grande Dame ihren 180-jährigen Geburtstag. Mittlerweile verfügt, das Hotel über 104 Zimmer und Suiten und mehrere Veranstaltungsräume. Rund 170 Mitarbeiter sorgen täglich für das wohl unserer Gäste.

    2018